Finding Faith

Long, long ago, back when I was twelve, I had fallen down with a mysterious illness. The doctor did not know what it was, nor did he know how to cure it.

I would choke on air and cough-vomit up a grainy black substance, almost like hot cocoa with a little water added to it. My doctor told me that it was blood, and it was coming from my lungs.

For months I had this problem. I would just get into a choking fit out of nowhere and cough up this black blood. Fed up with the doctor who said, “There’s nothing we can do about it,” I searched online. Thanks to Yahoo and the wonderful world wide web, I found out about Shamanic Illness. Shamanic Illness is when one comes down with mental or physical diseases as a calling to their true path, Shamanism.

I laughed it off. I was a hardcore Catholic at twelve years old. Nothing would ever change that…

Then, one night at the witching hour, I stumbled out of bed choking, gasping for air. My sister screamed for my stepfather, who ran into the hallway. I stopped breathing. I saw myself looking down at my sister and my stepfather, who was trying to give me CPR. Then I felt ripped right back into my body and took a refreshing gasp of air.

I decided at that point in time, what the Hell, trying out this Shamanism thing couldn’t hurt.

So I learned more about Shamanism and its beliefs, and incorporated them into the beliefs my mother had taught me about religion (not Catholic, mind you, my mother wasn’t truly a Catholic; in fact, she was the first, if unofficial, practitioner of the Many Moons Conclave tradition). To this day, I have not had another coughing fit of any sort. And to this day, I still travel to the Lower and Upper Worlds.

This entry was posted in Paganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Faith

  1. Djehutymes says:

    Very interesting and fascinating…What were your mother’s beliefs?

    • myrkr says:

      My mother was Santeria for a while, but only by name and practice. She had many other beliefs that she followed. She did many things, from low magick to high magick, and knew of many things. She was a great and wise woman.

Leave a Reply

