The Importance of Having a Matron AND a Patron

I’ll be the first person to tell you that it’s not required for you to have both a Matron and a Patron. It really isn’t. If you feel comfortable with just a Matron or just a Patron, that’s really all for you.

But what are the benefits of having both?

A Matron is a Goddess. She reflects who you really are on the inside. Your emotional self. The person you are when you’ve calmed down and are with a very close group of friends or with family. A Matron should be similar to your emotional self. If She isn’t already, give it time, She will be.

Likewise, a Patron is a God. He reflects who you are on the outside. Your physical self. The person you are when meeting new people or are out at a social event. A Patron should be similar to your physical self. If He isn’t already, give it time, He will be.

Now imagine if you had no Matron and just a Patron. You would have no One to reinforce your emotional self, and you would appear apathetic at times. You would be a complete echo of your Patron with time and it would be very visible for all to see.

Now imagine if you had not Patron and just a Matron. You would have no One to reinforce your physical self, and you would appear withdrawn at times. You would be a complete echo of your Matron with time and it would be very visible for all to see.

Just like you need a mother and a father to make a child, you need a Matron and a Patron to be yourself to your fullest. They are the Yin and the Yang of your being, and play a major role in who you are.

You gain half of your personality via genetics from your mother and father (nature), and you gain the other half of your personality through interactions (nurture). When you accept a Matron and a Patron into your life, a quarter of your personality is taken care of by each Divine. That is, half of your emotional self is defined and half of your physical self is defined by your Matron and Patron each, respectively.

Again. Whether you choose to have or listen to the calling of both a Matron and a Patron is up to you, but there are definitely benefits to having both.

This entry was posted in Paganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Importance of Having a Matron AND a Patron

  1. Djehutymes says:

    Very interesting article. I learned something new about matrons and patrons. I had no idea about the correspondence between emotional and physical selves. I had a vague idea of balance, and of both deities supporting and having to do with ALL of your traits, but precious little else. This article prompts discussion and introspection on my part about my own matron and patron and how they relate to me. By physical, you mean more the person on the outside, than strictly the physical body right? Keep up the writing. I like articles like these. ^^

  2. Hjalmgunnar says:

    Wow! I have been struggling with this question for a long time and I was looking for information on becoming a Lokean and I stumbled upon this! I have had difficultly connecting with any Goddess at all. My current Patron is Hermes but I have felt like we have been drifting apart from one another. My fascination, and admiration of Loki was somehow spontaneously thrust upon me recently — I believe that he was trying to connect with me, and I’m surprised he hasn’t caught my attention sooner, I am like him in a lot of ways. But my search for a matron has left me high and dry. I have never been able to truly connect with a Goddess. I’ve tried connecting with Freya and Frigga fervently but have received little or no connection. I am a women but I have always been extremely masculine I’m beginning to think I’m just not meant to have a matron. Out of curiosity who is your matron?

    • myrkr says:

      Sometimes we are deaf to the call, sometimes we can’t hear at all, and sometimes our sight is too narrow to find our patron and/or matron.

      My matron is Yemaya, a deity from a whole other pantheon.

Leave a Reply

