Cybernetic Shamanism: Magick

“Oh right. You’re an atheist.”

“What do you mean by that? Yeah, I’m an atheist, so what?”

“You’re not the type to believe in magick.” I couldn’t hold back a chuckle. Magick.

“You’re right, I’m not. Only idiots believe in magick and sky fairies.” She didn’t seem as amused.

“You can state your beliefs without being rude about it, you know. You could have said, no, I don’t believe in magick and left it at that instead of lacing your comments with insults. Don’t you have a decent atom in your body?”

“Atoms? They teach about ATOMS in this school?” I burst out laughing.

“Yes, they do. Now mature up a bit. Acting like you are. It’s counterproductive to most of the things in school and in life, unless you don’t mind being alone and pissing off all of the teachers one by one.”

“Again, you’re right, I don’t mind it.”

“And here I was, almost willing to teach you about magick. But you’re far too close-minded for me to even bother.”

“You’re going to tell me to use candles and the like, right?” I crossed my arms and leaned back in my chair. “That doesn’t do anything.”

“No, actually, I wasn’t going to tell you to use candles or anything like that. I meant with programming. Anything is possible with programming, even magick.”

“Oh God, you’re that off your rocker that you think that you can physically manifest things via programming?”

“I can physically manifest things using programming, and I’m not off my rocker.”

“Thanks, but no thanks. I’ll stick to normal programming. You know the type that makes videogames. Not the type that does that fake magick stuff.”

Waridi eyed me and shook her head, almost like she pitied me. Hah. Like I needed pity, especially from her, of all people! “It’s a shame, it really is,” she said to me with a frown. “There’s so much magick you can do with programming. And you’re going to miss out on all of it because you don’t believe in it.”

“Well, why should I believe in it? It’s not like there’s any proof for it,” I scoffed. She was so full of it.

“What if there was proof? Would you believe? Or would you deny it and demand more proof still? If someone could offer you exactly what you were looking for, would you turn them away and demand more?”

I couldn’t help but stare at her blankly, and feel that she was asking me more than whether or not I wanted proof for magick. But what she was asking exactly, I couldn’t put my finger on. “I might, only if I felt the evidence doesn’t suffice. Could you really blame me if I did? Wouldn’t you do the same?”

“Nope, I wouldn’t. But tell me what proof you want, and I’ll give it.”

“I don’t know. Do something that you can’t do.”

“What do you mean?”

“I want you to do something during our religious studies class, while you’re in class.”

“Alright, I’ll set off the fire alarms while we’re in class, how about that?”

“I’d like to see you try.” A grin spread across my face. This wouldn’t be something she’d be able to pull off, without a doubt. To set off the fire alarms while in class? Impossible!

“Then tomorrow, I will. Shall we shake on it?” She offered me her hand, which I grasped and gave a firm shake to.

“When you can’t manage, I’m totally going to laugh at you.”

“When I do manage, I’m totally going to rub it in your face.”

“You’re on!”

I left that computer lab with a feeling of confidence. I knew for a fact she couldn’t pull off such a stunt. No matter how badly she wanted to, she wouldn’t be able to. No magick would be able to come and help her do it, because it didn’t exist. It was almost too perfect.

And yet, I oddly felt like I had forgotten something. Perhaps it would dawn on me after a good night’s rest.

But what would I do if she actually managed to set the fire alarms off without leaving the classroom? Then what?

She wouldn’t. She couldn’t. That’s all there was to it. The end.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cybernetic Shamanism: Magick

  1. flash says:

    Hmm. Is it true? 🙂

  2. Tervic says:

    Time delay spike program. It’s totally possible.

Leave a Reply

