Mellaya and the Children

As time continued on, early on during the Separation, the island of Juga began to become a crowded place.  Mellaya and Helzen looked to each other, then to the island They had come to love so much.

“What shall we do?” asked Mellaya. “Al-Durago dem Juga have grown so much in number. We can’t possibly feed them all.”

Rubbing His chin thoughtfully, Helzen said, “I will create more herbs and fruits for them to eat. I will need your help to water the plants and keep them alive.”

“As you wish it, I will so do it, for the sake of our children, the al-durago dem Juga.”

And so the Lord of the Sun, Helzen, made a grandiose gesture with his arm over Juga. Small budding plants sprouted out of the ground, reaching up towards Helzen, greedily taking in His light. With a silent, knowing nod, the Lady of the Sea, Mellaya reached in and lightly flooded the island, watering all of the plants.  Durago dem Juga were satisfied, and so were the two divine.

Years went on, but soon They discovered the island again was running out of room. The plants that had been created for feeding the new generations were gone; there was little space for one to have and claim as their own. Again, Mellaya and Helzen looked to each other and frowned.

“There is nothing more I can do to help Al-Durago,” said a slightly solemn Helzen. “I think we are done dealing with them. All we can do now is watch them kill each other off and weep for their lost souls.”

“No,” the Lady of the Sea said in a firm tone. “I will not give up on my children, my Al-Durago.”

“Then you shall help them alone, for I am done dealing with them for now.” And with that, the God turned away from the island and darkness came over the land as night fell and He went to rest. Nezleh turned his bright white face to the island and watched carefully as Mellaya approached durago dem Juga. She went to them, and sang a single note, awaking them all from their sleep. They went to the center city of Juga, Karlud, and gathered around the Goddess.

“My beloved children, my Al-Durago, I have come to you to solve one of your greatest problems.” She looked at each of them, and the faces of their young. “I will take your young from you, the young you cannot afford to feed, and the young that you love. I will raise them as my own, and take them with me to the bottom of the ocean.”

“You will build a boat, and you will put your children that you cannot raise in the boat. At night, under the light of Al-Nezleh, you will send the boat out to sea. I will take the boat and give your children scales and fins and a flipper and gills, for which to swim and breathe. They will live with me, and I will love them as you surely would love them yourselves.”

It came to be, from that day forward, that all families who produced more than two children would send their extra child out to sea in a boat at nightfall. And dutifully, Mellaya, the All-Loving, bless’d be Her name, would take the boats and the children. It is said that sometimes you can see the children, fish from the waist down, in the ocean, watching Juga with Mellaya.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

