Tribeca Treats – Small Review

Walking to the train from PPD, I stopped short when I noticed a storefront that said “Tribeca Treats”. Now, I am a big fan of cooking and bakeries, so when I peeked into the window and saw what it was, I headed on in.

The staff were kind, the bakery was air conditioned, there were books, tables, and of course, food. Not many foodstuffs were on display – it was about 5 or 5:30 PM – but I ended up purchasing a red velvet cupcake and two chocolates (dark chocolate within a thin layer of white chocolate).

Oh. My. Gods.

First of all, the cupcake was $2. Most bakeries charge $2.50 and up, so this place already caught my attention. Next up was the fact that their buttercream frosting was more sweet than tart, and their red velvet cupcakes… there is no competition. Sweet, fluffy, smooth, and moist. It floats down into your stomach and makes you feel like you need to eat about a billion more. The best red velvet cupcake I ever had, better than Magnolia’s by at least tenfold.

I don’t remember the exact cost of the chocolate, and while it tasted good, it was small and rather expensive. I believe it was $2 or $3 a chocolate, which is not a purchase I will be making there again.

But those red velvets… I will be back for them, mark my words, I will!

If you are interested in giving them a visit…

Tribeca Treats
94 Reade Street
New York, NY 10013
(212) 571 – 0500

This entry was posted in Food and Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

